Marie Lambert Award

Text Size

Marie Lambert Award 

The winner of the Marie Lambert Award is annouced each year during the Women's Caucus Brunch at the AAJ's Annual Convention.

2013 Marie Lambert
Award Winner

Kathleen Flynn Peterson

Robins, Kaplan, Miller, & Ciresi L.L.P,
2800 Lasalle Plz.
800 Lasalle Ave.
Mineapolis, MN 55402

Marie M. Lambert

The Women Trial Lawyers Caucus established the Marie Lambert Award in 1997, to recognize and honor women members of AAJ.  The following principles guide the members of the Women Trial Lawyers Caucus:  To advance the admirable and selfless philosophy in AAJ's Mission, to strive to provide positive role models as women trial lawyers, to broaden the membership base of AAJ to include women by informing them of AAJ's membership services and Mission, to provide a support system of women lawyers with whom to network, socialize, and form professional relationships, to develop female leadership for AAJ, to provide fellowship and mentorship to newly-licensed female lawyers who embark on a career of trial law, and to uphold the honor, integrity, and dignity of the legal profession.

Marie Lambert, one of the first women trial attorneys of AAJ, joined the organization in1955. Admitted to the New York bar in the 1940's, Marie served as the first woman President of the New York Trial Lawyers Association (1974-76), in 1977, the citizens of New York elected Marie to the bench.  Marie also served on the AAJ Board of Governors (1978-80), and as Vice Chair of the Stalwarts Committee (1995-96).  Marie exemplified courage and strength to other lawyers.  She overcame many obstacles, most particularly sexism, to open her own law firm.  Marie Lambert demonstrated exemplary leadership to the profession, to her community, to AAJ, and to the Women Trial Lawyers Caucus.

Criteria: The Marie Lambert Award is given in recognition of exemplary leadership to the profession, to her community, to AAJ, and to the Women Trial Lawyers Caucus.

Eligibility: A candidate must be an AAJ Regular, Sustaining, Life, or President’s Club member for at least one year to be eligible for the nomination.

Nomination: To be considered for the Marie Lambert Award, a candidate must be nominated by an AAJ member in good standing.  To request a nomination form, please email jennifer.rafter@justice.orgNominations are due by May 2, 2014. 

Past Recipients
1997 Diane Weaver
1999 Mary Alexander
2000 Roxanne Barton Conlin
2001 Linda Miller Atkinson
2002 Mary Alice McLarty
2003 Linda Lipsen
2004 Mary Beth Ramey
2005 Joan M. MacDonald
2006 Lee J. Rohn
2007 Sandra Robinson
2008 Julie Braman Kane
2009 Rhonda Hill WiIson
2010 Miriam Bourdette
2011 Ruth E. Bernstein
2012 Staci Yandle
2013 Kathleen Flynn Peterson


The American Association for Justice
777 6th Street, NW, Ste 200 • Washington, DC  20001 • 800.424.2725 or 202.965.3500

© 2014 AAJ