AAJ HAS UPDATED ITS PRIVACY POLICY AND USES COOKIES ON THIS SITE. To acknowledge and accept AAJ’s privacy policy with the use of cookies, please select OK, I Accept.

Review AAJ's Privacy Policy

Lifetime Achievement Award

2021 Lifetime Achievement Award
Jayne Conroy

Jayne was recognized for her courtroom advocacy that has significantly advanced the rights of wrongfully injured people, furthering the cause for justice and the mission of the American Association for Justice. A true leader in the trial bar, Jane often serves on court-appointed leadership committees in complex legal actions of national importance, and is currently at the helm of one of the most complex litigations in American legal history, the opioid litigation. She is a named shareholder at of Simmons Hanly Conroy and based out of the firm's New York office.

2021 Lifetime Achievement Award
Paul Hanly, Jr. (1951-2021)

Paul Hanly, Jr. of Simmons Hanly Conroy was posthumously honored for his outstanding career as a class-action and mass tort trial lawyer who litigated many complex cases, including terrorist funding related to September 11, 2001 and sexual abuse at a Haitian orphanage. At the time of his death, along with his law partner Jayne Conroy, he was a crucial leader in the opioid litigation.

About the Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an AAJ member of at least 20 years standing whose courtroom advocacy has, during a distinguished career, significantly advanced the rights of the wrongfully injured, and who by substantial service to AAJ and the trial bar, has significantly furthered the cause of justice and the mission of the Association.

Past Recipients

2020: Robert A. Clifford
2019: Michael P. Koskoff
2018: Richard Hailey
2017: Wayne Hogan
2016: Mark P. Robinson
2015: W. Mark Lanier
2014: Howard L. Nations
2013: Gerry L. Spence
2012: Elizabeth Cabraser
2011: O. Fayrell Furr, Jr.
2010: Ronald L. Motley
2009: Todd Smith
2008: Fred Baron
2007: Philip H. Corboy Sr.
2006: Ralph Cloar
2005: Phil Maher
2004: Kenneth Feinberg
2003: Roxanne B. Conlin
2002: Jim Kitchens
2001: Gregory Cusimano
2000: Russ Herman
1999: Kathleen Flynn Peterson
1998: Bob Gibbins