Awards & Scholarships

Text Size

Awards & Scholarships 

Each year the Minority Caucus presents awards and scholarship to minority lawyers and minority law students. Listed below are the awards and scholarships presented each year.


Johnnie L. Cochran, Jr. Soaring Eagle Award - The Johnnie L. Cochran, Jr. Soaring Eagle Award was established in 1997 and symbolizes the struggle of lawyers of color as they travel the road to personal and professional success. The AAJ Minority Caucus presents this award annually to an attorney who, despite the challenges of his or her own journey, pursues excellence and has made outstanding efforts and contributions to the legal profession in paving the way for others.

2013 Soaring Eagle Award Winner - Carl E. Douglas, The Douglas Firm, Beverly Hills, California
2012 Soaring Eagle Award Winners - Daryl Parks and Benjamin Crump, Parks & Crump, L.L.C., Tallahassee, Florida


Richard D. Hailey Scholarship - The AAJ Minority Caucus awards up to six $1,000 tuition assistance scholarships annually. These scholarships are open to all incoming first, second, and third-year African American, Hispanic, Asian American, Native American and Bi-Racial AAJ Law Student Members.

2012 Richard D. Hailey Scholarship Winners:             

Tanisha Bostick, Thomas Jefferson School of Law 
Marc Stephen Davis, Ohio Northern University College of Law 
Patrick Hormillosa, Golden Gate University
Jamie Elise Jackson, University of Louisville Louis D. Brandeis School of Law 
Marshall E. Jackson, Jr., The University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law 
Tania Prado, University of California Hastings College of Law

The American Association for Justice
777 6th Street, NW, Ste 200 • Washington, DC  20001 • 800.424.2725 or 202.965.3500

© 2014 AAJ