AAJ Diplomates and ASTA Awardees

Text Size

AAJ Diplomates and ASTA Awardees 

AAJ members who have achieved Advanced Studies in Trial Advocacy (ASTA) status and the status of Diplomate as part of the Achievement Recognition Program (ARP) have accomplished this feat through continued education through AAJ. The goal of the programs is to build and develop professional knowledge through a continuing commitment to improving practical knowledge of trial skills and substantive law. Active participation in the program provides recognition for dedication, commitment, and enthusiasm to pursuing legal education. 

ARP participants are awarded the distinction of Advocate, Fellow, and Diplomate depending on the number of hours of continuing legal education completed. AAJ Diplomates have attended over 400 hours of qualifying AAJ Education programs—including AAJ Education's Ultimate Trial Advocacy Course: Art of Persuasion. ASTA achievers completed a rigorous curriculum that encompasses the skills and experience deemed by The National College of Advocacy and AAJ to be essential to a well-rounded legal training and a successful trial practice. The following AAJ members have shown their commitment to continuing legal education and AAJ Education. For more information on becoming an AAJ Diplomate or to view the ASTA curriculum, visit the Professional Recognition Page.



Gregory S. Cusimano*

Stephen D. Heninger

C. Delaine Mountain

Tom L. Larkin

Thomas S. McGrath



David A. Wenner*

Arthur E. Lloyd*



Frank H. Bailey

Ward M. Merdes*



John E. Hill

Edward C.Y. Lau

Daniel Rodriguez*

Gerson H. Smoger, Ph.D., J.D.

Laurence F. Padway

Derek Pakiz

James W. Vititoe

David M. Arbogast

Thomas D. Penfield



William L. Keating

Larry Dean Lee

Lance M. Sears

W. Harold Flowers, Jr.

Carrie R. Frank*

Murray Ogborn

James L. Gilbert



Vincent M. DeAngelo*

Eddi Z. Zyko

Ernest F. Teitell*



Timothy F. Prugh

J. Ron Smith



David Wm. Boone

James C. Carr



Darrel W. Aherin

William L. Mauk



Patricia C. Bobb

Robert D. Kreisman

Roman R. Okrei



Vernon J. Petri

Mary Beth Ramey

Daniel S. Chamberlain

Richard D. Hailey

Charles D. Hankey

C. Dennis Wegner



Roxanne Barton Conlin

Marc S. Harding



Peter A. Jouras*



Gary C. Johnson

Peter Perlman

Richard M. Rawdon, Jr.

Martha Marie Eastman*



Maury A. Herman

Russ M. Herman

Lawrence K. Burleigh

William H. Goforth



Douglas K. Sheff



Augustus F. Brown



Linda Miller Atkinson

O'Neal O. Wright



Mark R. Kosieradzki

Kathleen Flynn Peterson



Jon A. Swartzfager

Isaac K. Byrd, Jr.



Richard E. Schwartz

R. Deryl Edwards (posthumously)*

James H. Thompson, Jr.*

Douglass F. Noland



George F. McNally


New Jersey

Bruce H. Stern

Donald G. Targan

Thomas J. Vesper


New Mexico

Turner W. Branch

Joseph M. Fine


New York

Charles N. Rock*

Edward P. Ryan

Steven G. Schiesel*

Christopher J. O'Brien

Harlan A. Wittenstein


North Carolina

Donald H. Beskind*

Elizabeth F. Kuniholm

Scott D. Beal

Kathleen G. Sumner


North Dakota

David R. Bossart



Stephen J. Brown

Edward G. Kramer

Alfred K. Nippert, Jr.




Richard Andrew Shallcross



J. William Savage

Roger J. Leo



Matthew A. Cartwright

Jerry R. Knafo

Marion K. Munley

Rhonda H. Wilson*


Rhode Island

Richard A. Boren

Mark S. Mandell

Amato A. DeLuca


South Dakota

Terence R. Quinn

Nancy J. Turbak

Michael D. Stevens


South Carolina

O. Fayrell Furr, Jr.



Lisa Blue Baron, J.D., Ph.D.

Steven C. Laird 

Howard L. Nations*

Robert L. Collins

Randell C. Roberts*

R. Gary Stephens



Larry V. Roberts*

R. Eddie Davidson

Donna R. Davis

Phillip H. Miller*

Sidney W.Gilreath

Morgan G. Adams




Jerome F. O'Neill



Jeffrey A. Breit

Joel D. Bieber


Washington, DC

Patrick M. Regan

William P. Lightfoot*



West Virginia

James B. Lees, Jr.



Paul J. Scoptur*

Thomas Kyle♦


*These members have completed both the NCA's Advanced Studies in Trial Advocacy (ASTA) program and Achievement Recognition Program (ARP).

♦These members have completed the NCA's Advanced Studies in Trial Advocacy (ASTA) program.

The American Association for Justice
777 6th Street, NW, Ste 200 • Washington, DC  20001 • 800.424.2725 or 202.965.3500

© 2014 AAJ