2008 Annual Convention

Text Size

2008 Annual Convention 

2008 Philadelphia Annual Convention Logo
July 12, 2008 - July 16, 2008
Philadelphia Marriott and Loews Philadelphia
Philadelphia, PA

Program Book »

The American Association for Justice’s 2008 Philadelphia Annual Convention

Saturday, July 12-Wednesday, July 16
Philadelphia Marriott and Loews Philadelphia

Convention Highlights

Many events took place during the five day 2008 Annual Convention. The inaugural Women’s Leadership Summit at the 2008 Annual Convention was a huge sucesss! Sixty members attended this program, designed to advance and support women leadership in AAJ. Speakers included Dr. Arin N. Reeves of The Athens Group and Mary Jane Volk of EMILY’s List.

AAJ PAC was pleased to host a special M Club Luncheon at which attendees heard from Governor Kathleen Sebelius (D-KS) and Senator Claire McCaskill (D-MO). Over 100 Leaders Forum, PAC Eagles, Endowment Contributors, President’s Club, and Friends of Justice members attended the Leadership Breakfast in Philadelphia and had the opportunity to hear from United States Senator Arlen Specter (R-PA). Other speakers included Geoff Garin, President of Peter D. Hart Research Associates and Jon Haber, AAJ Chief Executive Officer. The event closed with a legislative update from AAJ Senior Vice President for Public Affairs, Linda Lipsen.

For the first time, the Heavy Lifting award was given to Sol Weiss for his outstanding commitment to raising funds for the organization.

On Wednesday, July 16, 2008, the Association held its Annual Business and Elections Meeting. The following individuals were duly nominated and elected as national officers for 2008-2009: Les Weisbrod of Texas is the new AAJ President. President-Elect: Anthony Tarricone of Massachusetts,Vice-President: Gibson Vance of Alabama Secretary: Gary Paul of California, Treasurer: Richard Golomb of Pennsylvania, Parliamentarian: Burton LeBlanc of Louisiana

The American Association for Justice
777 6th Street, NW, Ste 200 • Washington, DC  20001 • 800.424.2725 or 202.965.3500

© 2014 AAJ