Leonard Weinglass in Defense of Civil Liberties Award

The Leonard Weinglass In Defense of Civil Liberties Award is given to an individual—usually, but not necessarily, an attorney—who has made a notable contribution to the defense of civil liberties by bringing, trying, or resolving a suit, or by otherwise protecting or advancing civil liberties, in a way that has had a significant impact n the past year or over the course of his/her career.

The Civil Rights Section presented the 2014 Leonard Weinglass in Defense of Civil Liberties Award to Joseph P. Kennedy, for going above and beyond for the cause and support of justice. 

Past Recipients

2013: James E. McElroy

2012: People's Law Office

2011: Michael W. Bein, Donald Specter

2010: Marsha Levick

2009: Fred D. Gray Sr.

2008: Edward G. Kramer

2007: No Recipient

2006: Alan Graf

2005: Arthur Bryant