AAJ HAS UPDATED ITS PRIVACY POLICY AND USES COOKIES ON THIS SITE. To acknowledge and accept AAJ’s privacy policy with the use of cookies, please select OK, I Accept.

Review AAJ's Privacy Policy

David S. Shrager President’s Award

David S. Shrager President’s Award
Derrick L. Walker, 2022 Recipient

Derrick is passionate about the law, the plaintiff bar, and AAJ’s mission, “I’ve always thought about what I do as a personal injury attorney as: David vs. Goliath.” A former Chair of AAJ’s Minority Caucus, Derrick has also served on the Board for over a decade and has been an AAJ member for 20 years. He is a graduate of AAJ’s Diversity & Inclusion Leadership Academy and has served on AAJ’s National College of Advocacy Board of Trustees and the AAJ Executive Committee.

About the Award

Recognizes an AAJ member who has demonstrated former AAJ President David Shrager's passion for the law and trial bar, and who has made an outstanding contribution to civil justice and the work of AAJ.

Past Recipients

2021: Larry F. Taylor, Jr.
2017: Thomas F. Fay and Caragh G. Fay
2016: Lisa Blue
2015: Tobi Millrood
2014: Robert S. Peck
2013: Mike Papantonio and Mark J. Proctor
2012: Peter Kraus
2011: Sol H. Weiss
2010: Mike Eidson
2009: John Eddie Williams Jr.
2008: Howard Twiggs
2007: Ronald Motley
2006: Richard Bieder
2005: Anthony Tarricone
2004: Kenneth M. Suggs
2003: Fred Baron

David Shrager in a leather chair.

David S. Shrager

1935–2005 Pennsylvania
Past President, 1983-84

Mr. Shrager had many accomplishments in the courtroom, but is best remembered as a caring mentor and friend to other trial lawyers. Throughout his career, he was a member of AAJ and served in many leadership roles, including President of the association from 1983-84. He founded the Pennsylvania Trial Lawyers Association, served as president of the Roscoe Pound Institute, and was one of the first lawyers to volunteer for Trial Lawyers Care, the largest and most successful pro bono legal service programs ever undertaken.