Student Trial Advocacy Competition (STAC)

AAJ’s Student Trial Advocacy Competition is an annual nationwide law student mock trial competition.

2024 STAC Winners Baylor University holding their awards and standing with AAJ President Sean Domnick

2024 STAC Champions

Baylor University School of Law Waco, TX

Congratulations to the 2024 STAC Champions, Duncan Robinson, Ameyali Sanchez, Anderson Tittle, and Robert Holland. Baylor won the Midwest 3 Regional and went on to defeat UCLA School of Law in the National Finals, held in Chicago April 4-7. Duncan Robinson was awarded “Best Advocate” in the National Finals. Thank you to all the students, coaches, judges, and volunteers who made 2024 STAC a success.

Review the 2024 Competition Details

2024 Competition Update

The 2024 Competition virtual Regionals were held March 7-10. The in-person National Finals were held April 4-7 in Chicago.

The 2024 competition was a hybrid model.

The Regional Tournaments were held virtually March 7-10, 2024.

The National Finals were held in person April 4-7, 2024, in Chicago, IL.


Past Winners

  • 2024 – Baylor University School of Law
  • 2023 – University of California, Los Angeles School of Law
  • 2022 – University of California, Los Angeles School of Law
  • 2021 – University of California, Los Angeles School of Law
  • 2020 – Canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic
  • 2019 – Campbell University, Norman A. Wiggins School of Law
  • 2018 – University of California College of the Law, San Francisco (formerly University of California, Hastings)
  • 2017 – Wake Forest University Law School
  • 2016 – Drexel University Thomas R. Kline School of Law
  • 2015 – Stetson University College of Law
  • 2014 – University of Akron School of Law
  • 2013 – University of Notre Dame Law School
  • 2012 – Cumberland School of Law Samford University 
  • 2011 – Duquesne University School of Law
  • 2010 – University of Wisconsin-Madison Law School
  • 2009 – Stetson University College of Law
  • 2008 – Cumberland School of Law Samford University
  • 2007 – Baylor University School of Law
  • 2006 – South Texas College of Law
  • 2005 – Baylor University School of Law
  • 2004 – University of Akron School of Law
  • 2003 – University of Denver Sturm College of Law
  • 2002 – Harvard Law School
  • 2001 – Temple University Beasley School of Law
attention future Trial Lawyers
Law Student Scholarships

AAJ has four scholarships available for qualified law students: Richard D. Hailey Scholarship ($5,000), Trial Advocacy Scholarship ($3,000), Leesfield/AAJ Scholarship ($2,500), and Mike Eidson Scholarship ($5,000). Scholarship applications are now open.

Expand Your Network
Law School Chapters

AAJ Law School Chapters provide students with resources and opportunities to network and engage with AAJ members. Chapters invite local trial lawyers to speak about their practice areas, practical skills, and cases they have litigated. Students can network with member firms and participate in mentoring programs.

Contact Us