Leesfield/AAJ Scholarship

Sponsored by AAJ, and AAJ member Ira Leesfield, this scholarship awards $2,500 to a Law Student Member to subsidize attendance at AAJ’s Annual Convention in Boston, Massachusetts. AAJ's Annual Convention is a great opportunity for the scholarship recipient to network with top trial lawyers from around the country, attend CLE programs, and meet members of AAJ's New Lawyer DIvision (NLD). This scholarship is available to first- and second-year AAJ Law Student Members.

2017 Cycle 

The 2017 scholarship cycle will open in February, 2017. Scholarship applications will be due May 1, 2017.  

Applications must include the following:

  • A resumé
  • A statement of financial need
  • A 500-word written request substantiating the applicant's commitment to preserving the civil justice system.
  • Up to three (3) recommendations from a faculty adviser, trial advocacy professor, dean, AAJ member, or trial lawyer; and
  • A completed form verifying your student status. ​Download the form.

Every applicant must be an AAJ law student member (join here) and enrolled in an ABA accredited law school. Incomplete applications will not be considered. 

Submit applications to:

AAJ Education 
777 6th Street, NW
Suite 200
Washington, DC 20001

Please contact AAJ Education with questions at 800-622-1791 or by email at: education@justice.org.

Congratulations to the winner of the 2016 Leesfield Scholarship: 

Estevan Fernandez
Loyola Law School
Los Angeles, CA

Past Recipients


Alysia Castillo
UNT Dallas College of Law
Dallas, TX


Brenda Kathurima
​Univeristy of Maryland, Francis King Carey School of Law
Baltimore, MD


Adam Birka-White


Gabriela M. Schultz