Leesfield/AAJ Scholarship | The American Association For Justice

Leesfield/AAJ Scholarship

Sponsored by AAJ, and AAJ member Ira Leesfield, this scholarship awards $2,500 to a Law Student Member to subsidize attendance at AAJ’s 2019 Annual Convention in San Diego, California. AAJ's Annual Convention is a great opportunity for the scholarship recipient to network with top trial lawyers from around the country, attend CLE programs, and meet members of AAJ's New Lawyer DIvision (NLD). This scholarship is available to first- and second-year AAJ Law Student Members.

2019 Cycle 

Applications are now being accepted for the 2019 cycle. Completed application packets must be submitted to AAJ by May 24, 2019. Incomplete applications will not be considered.

Applications must include the following:

  • A resumé
  • A statement of financial need
  • A 500-word written request substantiating the applicant's commitment to preserving the civil justice system.
  • Up to three (3) recommendations from a faculty adviser, trial advocacy professor, dean, AAJ member, or trial lawyer; and
  • A completed form verifying your student status.

DOWNLOAD leesfield/aaj scholarship VERIFICATION FORM 

Every applicant must be an AAJ law student member (join here) and enrolled in an ABA accredited law school. Incomplete applications will not be considered. 

Submit applications to:

AAJ Membership Department
777 6th Street NW
Suite 200
Washington, DC 20001

Please contact the AAJ Membership Department with questions at 800-424-2727 or by email at: membership@justice.org.

Congratulations to the winner of the 2018 Leesfield/AAJ Scholarship: 

Allison Takacs
University of Denver Sturm College of Law
Denver, CO

Past Recipients


Heather Schneider
New England Law
Boston, MA

Gina Rosemarie Simeone
Suffolk University Law School
Boston, MA


Estevan Fernandez
Loyola Law School
Los Angeles, CA


Alysia Castillo
UNT Dallas College of Law
Dallas, TX


Brenda Kathurima
Univeristy of Maryland, Francis King Carey School of Law
Baltimore, MD


Adam Birka-White


Gabriela M. Schultz