Officers serve a one-year term and are elected at the annual conventions.

AAJ 2016-2017 Executive Officers

President: Julie Braman Kane of Colson Hicks Eidson in Coral Gables, FL​
President-Elect: Kathleen Lenehan Nastri of Koskoff Koskoff & Bieder, PC in Bridgeport, CT​
Vice-President: Elise Sanguinetti of Arias Sanguinetti Stahle & Torrijos LLP in Oakland, CA​
Secretary: Bruce H. Stern of Stark & Stark in Princeton, NJ​
Treasurer: Tobi L. Millrood of Pogust Braslow & Millrood in Conshohocken, PA
Parliamentarian: Navan Ward of Allen, Crow, Methvin, Portis & Miles in Montgomery, AL



 Julie Braman Kane

“I have fought for safety, justice, and fairness on behalf of my clients for my entire career, and I am deeply honored to work to protect all of our clients this year as your president.”

A partner with Colson Hicks Eidson in Coral Gables, Fla., Ms. Kane served as President-Elect in 2015-16, Vice President in 2014-15, Secretary in 2013-14, Treasurer in 2012-13, and Parliamentarian in 2011-12. She has served on the Board of Governors since 2001 and has chaired the Products Liability Section, National College of Advocacy Board of Trustees, Women Trial Lawyers Caucus, National Finance Council, and the Membership Oversight and Voter Protection Action Committees. She has also served as a Commissioner on the Florida Elections Commission and as president of the Florida Association for Women Lawyers, Miami-Dade Chapter. Ms. Kane graduated from the University of Miami in 1990 and earned her J.D. from the university’s School of Law in 1993. 



Kathleen L. Nastri

“It is essential that we, as trial attorneys, work together in support of the mission of a fair and effective justice system for all citizens.”

A partner with Koskoff, Koskoff & Bieder in Bridgeport, Conn., Ms. Nastri served as AAJ’s Vice President in 2015-16, Secretary in 2014-15 and Treasurer in 2013-14. She has served as a member of the AAJ PAC Board of Trustees/AAJ PAC, National Finance Council, Enfranchisement Task Force, Diversity Task Force, and State Delegates. She has also been a member of the Executive, Public Affairs, and Publications Committees. She is a past president of the Connecticut Trial Lawyers Association. Ms. Nastri earned her bachelor’s degree from the University of Connecticut in 1983 and her J.D. from the University of Connecticut School of Law in 1986.



Elise R. Sanguinetti

“I will continue to help in the fight against forced arbitration and similar attacks on our Seventh Amendment rights.”

Founder of Arias Sanguinetti Stahle & Torrijos in Oakland, Calif., Ms. Sanguinetti served as Secretary in 2016-15, Treasurer in 2014-15 and Parliamentarian in 2013-14. She has chaired the National College of Advocacy Board of Trustees, Membership Task Force, National Finance Council, Membership Oversight Committee, and New Lawyers Division. She has served as vice chair of the Public Affairs Committee and as a member of the AAJ PAC Board of Trustees, the Exchange Advisory Committee, and the Executive, Budget, and Justice List Committees. She is also the president of the Consumer Attorneys of California. Ms. Sanguinetti earned her bachelor’s degree from San Diego State University in 1993 and her J.D. from the University of San Francisco in 1997.



Bruce H. Stern

“Working with CEO Linda Lipsen and her wonderful staff makes the job easy.”

A shareholder in Stark & Stark in Princeton, N.J., Mr. Stern served as AAJ’s Treasurer in 2015-16, Parliamentarian in 2014-15, and is vice chair of the National Finance Council. He previously served on AAJ’s Executive Board and Board of Governors. He has chaired the Motor Vehicle Collision, Highway and Premises Liability Section; the Traumatic Brain Injury Litigation Group; and the Audit Committee. He has served as a State Delegate and as a member of the National College of Advocacy Board of Trustees. Mr. Stern earned his bachelor’s degree from Duke University in 1977 and his J.D. from the Rutgers School of Law in 1981.


Tobi Milrood_0.jpgTobi L. Millrood

“It is my goal to inspire my fellow AAJ members to challenge themselves, as well as to reach even greater heights with the greatest trial bar in the world.”

A partner with Pogust, Braslow & Millrood in Philadelphia and Conshohocken, Pa., Mr. Millrood has previously been elected to the Executive Committee, and currently chairs the Evergreen Advisory Board. He is cochair of the Marketing and Practice Development Committee and is a past chair of the Section and Litigation Group Coordination Committee. He has served on the Budget Committee, Diversity Committee, Membership Oversight Committee, Governance Task Force, Publications Committee, National Finance Council, and PAC Task Force. He also served as an NCA course advisor. Mr. Millrood earned his bachelor’s degree from Tulane University in 1992 and his J.D. from the University of Tulsa College of Law in 1995.


Tobi Milrood_0.jpgNavan Ward, Jr. 

“It is truly inspiring to see how this organization continues to help trial lawyers hold wrongdoers accountable by making sure the civil justice system is fair and just.”

A principal with Beasley, Allen, Crow, MethvinPortis & Miles in Montgomery, Ala., Mr. Ward is currently cochair of the Voter Protection Action Committee. He also cochairs the DePuy Metal on Metal and Biomet Metal on Metal Litigation Groups and is a past chair of the Minority Caucus and the immediate past chair of the Diversity Committee. He has served on AAJ’s Executive Committee, the Board of Governors, the Election Committee, Convention Planning Committee, National Finance Council, and PAC Task Force. Mr. Ward earned his bachelor’s degree from the University of Alabama in 1999 and his J.D. from the university’s School of Law in 2002.